Books

cover art by Mike Heath / Magnus Creative

Architects of Memory

Millions died after the first contact. An alien weapon holds the key to redemption—or annihilation. Experience Karen Osborne’s unforgettable science fiction debut, Architects of Memory.

Terminally ill salvage pilot Ash Jackson lost everything in the war with the alien Vai, but she’ll be damned if she loses her future. Her plan: to buy, beg, or lie her way out of corporate indenture and find a cure. When her crew salvages a genocidal weapon from a ravaged starship above a dead colony, Ash uncovers a conspiracy of corporate intrigue and betrayal that threatens to turn her into a living weapon.

Out August 25th, 2020 from Tor Books.

–PREORDERS AVAILABLE AT MACMILLAN – CLICK HERE
–ADD ARCHITECTS OF MEMORY ON GOODREADS

REVIEWS

“Exciting and scary and fun and smart and sad and moving all at the same time. You need this book in your life.”—Sam J. Miller, Nebula Award Winning author of The Art of Starving and Blackfish City

“A thrilling labyrinth of plot twists exploring loyalty, trust, and promises.”—Sue Burke, Arthur C. Clarke Award finalist and author of Semiosis

“Kick-ass and poetic.”—Emily Devenport, author of Medusa Uploaded

“Far-future corporate dystopia plus deep-space mystery plus powerful character drama. For fans of Firefly, Killjoys, and The Wrong Stars.”—Michael R. Underwood, author of Annihilation Aria

“An absolutely stunning debut . . . razor-tipped and diamond-sharp. A deadly first shot from one of the most incisive new voices in the genre.”—Tyler Hays, author of The Imaginary Corpse

Architects of Memory is the queer, nail-biting lovechild of the humanity of The Expanse and the action-fast pulse of Die Hard, and I loved every minute of it.”—A.J. Hackwith, author of The Library of the Unwritten

“… A plot twisty, heart-stealing delight. It’s the whole space opera package: the Vai are some of the most perspective-shifting, most poignant, most alien extraterrestrials I’ve ever encountered, the corporate overlords have their scum dials turned up to eleven, and the love story at its core is tragic and hopeful and beautiful all at once. It’s a safe bet that this debut is the start of something really special.”—Bryan Camp, Author of The City of Lost Fortunes and Gather The Fortunes